Gary Numan, John Foxx Collaboration CONFIRMED


Gary Numan mentioned it first, on his “pledgemusic” page. He was complaining that he’d spent all doing his accounts when he wanted to work on a track John Foxx had sent him..

He later said he’d been working on the John Foxx track..

So I posted a message on METAMATIC asking if anyone had any info.. and ROB HARRIS (Webmaster) confirmed that something IS in the pipeline. “Details to follow”..

WOW! – to me, that is the holy grail! Numan AND Foxx.. I’ve always had a foot in both camps, started with Numan, and then found Foxx, via Ultravox..

I can’t wait..

[bctt tweet=”OFFICIAL: Numan and Foxx Collaboration CONFIRMED!”]

Gary mentions it in TWO places: and

Rob Harris Confirms it here:

John Foxx & Jori Hulkkonen – European Splendour EP

European Splendour is the forthcoming collaboration from John Foxx and Jori Hulkkonen…
Available on both Compact Disc and 12 Inch Black Vinyl. The artwork for both releases has been created by Jonathan Barnbrook.


Compact Disc edition Vinyl edition
A1. Evangeline A1. Evangeline
A2. Strictly A2. Strictly
A3. Something Is Coming Down The Avenues B1. Something Is Coming Down The Avenues
A4. Can’t See You Anymore B2. Can’t See You Anymore
A5. Evangeline (David Lynch Remix) B3. Evangeline (David Lynch Remix)
A6. Evangeline (David Lynch Instrumental)
A7. Evangeline (Radio Edit)

MP3 Download Version

Available to Buy NOW on | Preview Tracks

The Soft Moon vs John Foxx & The Maths – ‘Evidence’

The track ‘Evidence’ was born naturally out of the two artists’ mutual appreciation for one another. Speaking with Artrocker magazine last year, Luis Vasquez from The Soft Moon had this to say of John Foxx’s influence on his own music: ‘Foxx’s Metamatic album is what led me to discover the Arp Odyssey, the most crucial instrument in my collection, and the key synthesizer used in creating my unique sound. So, that album is very important to me and what I do.’ With regard to the collaboration, John Foxx said, ‘The Soft Moon are where minimalism maximises into a new universe of possibilities. It’s an absolute joy for us to work with them.’

‘Evidence’ will be released as a one-sided 7 inch single by Captured tracks on 26 June. It also features on the forthcoming Evidence mini-album by John Foxx & The Maths in early September.

Also, here’s a cool and completely unofficial video for the track:

Uncut Magazine



The original alienated synthesist, still exploring the analogue . . .

Before finding success with vocalist Midge Ure, Ultravox were led by the Chorley-born John Foxx, whose pale, alien appearance and passion for synthesisers proved a little exotic for a general public still absorbing the shock of punk. The zeitgeist, of course, caught up with Foxx although he still remains on the fringes. Unfairly, perhaps. The Shape Of Things, a collaboration with London synth collector Benge, couches his dolorous laments amid a retrofuturist show of bubbling electronics. It works well enough that when ‘Falling Away’ pastes on some broiling guitar feedback it sounds almost superfluous.’

‘Talk (Beneath Your Dreams)’ – John Foxx And The Maths Featuring Matthew Dear

John Foxx And The Maths are set to release a 16 track single CD version of the new album, The Shape Of Things on 19 March, 2012.

The single CD will feature ‘Talk (Beneath Your Dreams)’ which is a collaboration with Matthew Dear, and features a vocal by the US electronic artist. John and Benge included a track from Dear’s 2010 album Black City on their Quietus mix HERE

‘Talk (Beneath Your Dreams)’ will also appear on a new EP, currently being recorded at The Maths’ studio in London and due for release in the spring.

The full tracklisting for the single CD version of the album is as follows:

1 Spirus
2 Rear-View Mirror
3 Talk
4 Psytron
5 September Town
6 Unrecognised
7 Modreno
8 Falling Away
9 Invisible Ray
10 Vapour Trails
11 Buddwing
12 Tides
13 Astoria
14 The Shadow Of His Former Self
15 Talk (Beneath Your Dreams) Featuring Matthew Dear
16 Where You End And I Begin Featuring Tara Busch

You can pre-order the album now for £9.99 from the Official Store at Townsend Records HERE

The double CD, featuring a bonus album of remixes, is also still available HERE

For more information about Matthew Dear please visit his OFFICIAL SITE